Home › Laminators › USI ARL 2700 Thermal Roll Laminator Kit Review

USI ARL 2700 Thermal Roll Laminator Kit Review

A 27 inch UL Listed roll laminator with four rolls of film included, a motor key lock, and a 131 pound weight you need to plan for.

P By The Pickpedia Team ·Laminators
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Pickpedia earns from qualifying purchases. The buttons on this page are paid links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects our verdict or scores.
USI ARL 2700 Thermal Roll Laminator Kit
At a Glance
BrandUSI
ModelARL 2700
Part number2707
TypeThermal hot roll laminator
Maximum film width27 in
Maximum film thickness5 mils
Best forSchools, print rooms and offices laminating wide work in volume rather than occasional sheets

Product Overview

There is a clear line between a laminator you keep in a cupboard and one that becomes part of the room, and this is firmly the second kind. It takes film up to 27 inches wide and up to 5 mils thick, which means posters, maps, display boards and laminated signage rather than the occasional certificate.

The headline number to absorb before anything else is the weight: 131 pounds. This is a floor machine. It needs two people to position, a permanent surface or stand that will carry it, and a location you are happy with long term, because nobody moves it twice. Frustratingly the listing publishes no dimensions, so measure generously and confirm the footprint with the seller before delivery day.

What you get for that commitment is a properly specified machine. Adjustable temperature with a digital readout, a quiet variable speed motor, electric reverse for when something goes wrong mid-pass, automatic shutoff, a wraparound prevention bar and a motor key lock. That last group is a school equipment list, and it is clearly who this is built for.

Score Breakdown

Capability range9.5
Safety features9.5
Temperature control9.5
Film supplied9.5
Warranty and support9.5
Specification disclosure5.5
Ease of placement4.5
What we checked

This verdict is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon listing and its product images, the confirmed materials and design, real buyer ratings, and our research into the product category. Scores are consistent editorial judgments, not laboratory measurements, and we did not receive a paid sample.

Key Features

27 inch width

Takes film up to 27 inches wide and up to 5 mils thick with any finish, so posters, maps and display boards are all in range.

UL Listed

Third-party safety listing on a machine that activates adhesive between 230 and 250 F and stays on through a working day.

Digital temperature readout

Adjustable temperature with a readout, so the right setting for a film and stock becomes repeatable instead of trial and error.

Electric reverse

Backs a bad pass out under power rather than by hand, which is what stops a crooked feed becoming roller damage.

Motor key lock

Stops anyone operating the machine unsupervised, which in a school is the safety feature that matters most.

Wraparound prevention bar

Guards against film wrapping onto the rollers, the failure that turns a simple jam into a service call.

Four rolls included

Each 27 inches wide, 3 mil, 250 feet long on a 1 inch core, which is a working stock rather than a token starter roll.

Colour coded film

USI produces the rolls colour coded so loading film the right way round on a hot machine is harder to get wrong.

Design and Build Quality

Being UL Listed is the specification that matters most here and gets the least attention. This machine runs hot enough to activate adhesive at 230 to 250 degrees Fahrenheit, it is left switched on through a working day, and in a school it operates near people who are not trained on it. A third-party safety listing on a heated motorised machine is not a marketing badge, it is the difference between an approved installation and a problem with your insurer.

The safety provisions extend past the listing itself. A wraparound prevention bar guards against film wrapping onto the rollers, which is the failure that turns a jam into a service call. Automatic shutoff covers the machine being left running. The motor key lock is the one that will matter most in a school, because it stops anybody idly feeding something through an unattended hot laminator.

Electric reverse deserves a mention of its own. On a roll laminator, something going in crooked or doubling over is an eventual certainty rather than a risk, and being able to back the work out under power instead of fighting it by hand is what keeps a mistake from becoming damage to the rollers.

USI states that the machine carries a 2 year comprehensive warranty, which it describes as the industry's best, and that all customers receive free lifetime technical support. We cannot verify the superlative, and we are not going to repeat it as fact. What we can say is that two years of comprehensive cover on a heated motorised machine is a strong term, and that lifetime phone support on equipment a school will keep for a decade has real value when the person who knew how to use it has moved on.

Performance in Everyday Use

The capability spread is the reason to choose a roll machine. Up to 27 inches wide covers nearly anything a school or office produces, and up to 5 mils thick covers everything from light document protection to rigid display work with any finish. That range means one machine serves the whole building rather than handling the easy jobs and sending the rest out.

Worth noting what the kit actually includes against what the machine can do. The four supplied rolls are 3 mil Opti Clear, which is a sensible general-purpose thickness, while the machine itself accepts up to 5 mil. So the film in the box is the everyday option, not the heaviest the machine will run. If your work needs rigid 5 mil stock, that is a separate order.

The film supply is substantial. Four rolls, each 27 inches wide and 250 feet long on a 1 inch core, is a genuine working stock rather than a token starter roll, and it means the machine earns its place immediately instead of waiting on a consumables order. USI also produces the rolls colour coded, which sounds trivial until you have watched someone load film the wrong way round on a hot machine.

Temperature control is where thermal lamination succeeds or fails. The adhesive activates between 230 and 250 degrees Fahrenheit, and an adjustable temperature with a digital readout lets you match the setting to the film and the stock rather than guessing. Too cool and the film lifts at the edges, too hot and it ripples. A readout turns that from trial and error into a repeatable setting you can write on the wall beside the machine.

Two things the listing does not tell you. There is no throughput figure for the variable speed motor, so we cannot say how many feet a minute it manages, and there is no warm-up time, which on a machine of this mass is worth knowing before you plan a morning around it. USI describes the motor as quiet, which is a subjective claim rather than a measured one.

How It Performs: The Evidence

Decision factorWhat we foundEvidence and measurementScoreWhy it matters
Film capability Up to 27 inches wide and up to 5 mils thick, any finish Listing states excellent results using films up to 27 inches wide and up to 5 mils thick, with any finish 9.5 One machine then covers everything from documents to rigid display work
Safety certification UL Listed The title and features both state UL Listed 9.5 A heated motorised machine left on all day in a school needs third-party listing
Temperature control Adjustable with digital readout, adhesive activating at 230 to 250 F Listing states an adjustable temperature with digital readout, and that the Opti Clear film adhesive activates at 230-250 degrees F 9.5 A readout turns the right setting into something repeatable rather than guesswork
Operating features Variable speed motor, electric reverse, automatic shutoff, wraparound prevention bar, motor key lock Listing states a quiet variable speed motor, electric reverse, an automatic shutoff feature, wraparound prevention bar and motor key lock 9.5 Reverse recovers a bad pass and the key lock keeps an unattended hot machine safe
Film included 4 rolls, 27 inches wide, 3 mil, 250 feet, 1 inch core, colour coded Listing states the kit includes 4 rolls of premium USI Opti Clear thermal roll laminating film, 27 inches wide, 3 mils thick, 250 ft long, 1 inch core, produced colour coded 9.5 A real working stock means the machine produces from the day it is installed
Warranty and support 2 year comprehensive warranty plus free lifetime technical support Listing states the ARL 2700 includes a 2-year comprehensive warranty and that all customers receive free lifetime technical support 9.5 Lifetime support matters on equipment a school keeps long after staff change
Placement 131 pounds with no published dimensions The listing weight attribute records 131 pounds, and no height, width or depth is given 4.5 Two people and a permanent location are required, and the footprint cannot be planned
Published performance data No throughput rate or warm-up time The listing describes a quiet variable speed motor but gives no feet per minute figure and no warm-up period 5.5 Both matter when scheduling a volume run on a machine of this mass

Who Should Buy It

Buy it if
  • Schools and school print rooms
  • Offices producing display and signage work
  • Print shops laminating wide format work
  • Anywhere laminating in volume rather than occasionally
  • Buildings wanting one machine for every job
Skip it if
  • Home or small office use, or anyone with no floor space to give a machine of this size
  • 131 pounds, so it needs two people and a permanent location
  • No dimensions published, making space planning guesswork
  • No throughput rate given for the variable speed motor
  • No warm-up time stated on a machine of this mass
  • Included film is 3 mil, not the 5 mil the machine can run
  • The best-selling and industry's best claims are unverifiable

Full Specifications

BrandUSI
ModelARL 2700
Part number2707
TypeThermal hot roll laminator
Maximum film width27 in
Maximum film thickness5 mils
Safety listingUL Listed
Temperature controlAdjustable, digital readout
Adhesive activation230 to 250 F
MotorVariable speed, with electric reverse
Safety featuresAutomatic shutoff, wraparound prevention bar, motor key lock
Film included4 rolls, Opti Clear
Included film size27 in wide, 3 mil, 250 ft, 1 in core
Weight131 lb
DimensionsNot published on the listing
Warranty2 year comprehensive
SupportFree lifetime technical support

How It Compares

FeatureUSITypical budgetPremium option
FormatRoll, up to 27 in widePouch, letter sizeRoll, narrower
Film thicknessUp to 5 milsFixed pouch thicknessUp to 3 mils
Safety listingUL ListedNot statedNot stated
TemperatureAdjustable with digital readoutTwo fixed settingsAdjustable dial, no readout
Error recoveryElectric reverseManual release onlyManual release only
Access controlMotor key lockNoneNone
Film supplied4 rolls at 250 ft eachA few pouches1 starter roll
Warranty2 year comprehensive plus lifetime supportOne yearOne year
Installation131 lb, permanent placementDesktop, portableBenchtop

Alternatives Worth a Look

INSMART Cordless Electric Grill Brush
INSMART Cordless Electric Grill Brush View on Amazon ›
linseyCove Multifunctional Sink and Faucet Wrench
linseyCove Multifunctional Sink and Faucet Wre... View on Amazon ›
1/4 Inch Hex Shank Drill Chuck Adapter Set for Impact Drivers
1/4 Inch Hex Shank Drill Chuck Adapter Set for... View on Amazon ›
Final Verdict
Great Choice
9/10

A serious machine for a room that needs one. Film up to 27 inches wide and 5 mils thick covers the whole building's work, UL Listed status matters on something this hot that runs all day, and the motor key lock, wraparound prevention bar, automatic shutoff and electric reverse are exactly the right features for a school. Four rolls of 250 foot film means it works from day one, and 2 years of comprehensive cover with lifetime support is a strong backing. Plan for 131 pounds and confirm the footprint, because the listing gives no dimensions.

Why buySchools, print rooms and offices laminating wide work in volume rather than occasional sheets.
Why skipAt 131 pounds it needs a permanent home and help to position, and no dimensions are published.
Highly Recommended Check Price on Amazon ›
Secure checkout via Amazon

Frequently Asked Questions

How big and heavy is it?

It weighs 131 pounds, which makes it a floor machine needing two people to position and a permanent home. Our main criticism of the listing is that it publishes no dimensions at all, so measure generously and confirm the footprint with the seller before delivery rather than after.

What film can it run?

Film up to 27 inches wide and up to 5 mils thick, with any finish. Note that the four rolls included in the kit are 3 mil, which is the sensible everyday thickness. If your work needs the rigid 5 mil stock the machine can handle, that is a separate order.

How much film comes with it?

Four rolls of USI Opti Clear, each 27 inches wide, 3 mils thick and 250 feet long on a 1 inch core. That is a genuine working stock rather than a token starter roll, and the rolls are colour coded, which makes loading them the right way round on a hot machine easier.

Is it safe to leave in a school?

It carries the features you would want. It is UL Listed, which is a third-party safety listing rather than a marketing badge, and it has automatic shutoff, a wraparound prevention bar and a motor key lock. The key lock is the important one, because it stops anyone operating an unattended hot machine.

What temperature does it need?

USI states the Opti Clear film adhesive activates between 230 and 250 degrees Fahrenheit, and the machine has adjustable temperature with a digital readout. That readout is what makes results repeatable: too cool and film lifts at the edges, too hot and it ripples, and a number lets you record the right setting.

What happens if something goes in crooked?

That is what electric reverse is for, and on a roll laminator it is an eventual certainty rather than a risk. Being able to back the work out under power instead of pulling at it is what keeps a bad pass from becoming damage to the rollers, which is the outcome that needs an engineer.

How fast does it laminate?

USI does not say. The listing describes a quiet variable speed motor but publishes no feet per minute figure, and no warm-up time either. Both would be useful when planning a volume run, so if throughput matters to your workflow, ask the seller for the rated speed before ordering.

What warranty and support come with it?

USI states a 2 year comprehensive warranty and free lifetime technical support for all customers. It describes the warranty as the industry's best, which we cannot verify and have not repeated as fact. Two years of comprehensive cover is a strong term regardless, and lifetime support is genuinely useful on long-lived equipment.

How we reviewed this product

This review is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current product listing and its images, the confirmed maximum film width and thickness, UL Listed status, included film quantity, width, thickness, length and core size, adhesive activation temperature range, control and safety features, machine weight, model and part number, and warranty and support terms, plus our own research into how thermal roll lamination and film thickness grades work. It is editorial analysis, not laboratory testing. We have not operated this machine, the best-selling and industry's best warranty claims are the company's own and we have not repeated them as fact, and we have flagged that the listing publishes no dimensions, throughput rate or warm-up time.

Note: Availability and specifications change often. Always confirm the current details on Amazon before buying.