Home › Jump Starters › NOCO Boost GB40 1000A Lithium Jump Starter Review

NOCO Boost GB40 1000A Lithium Jump Starter Review

A 1000 amp lithium jump starter with spark-proof, reverse-polarity protected clamps in a 2.4 pound IP65 body.

P By The Pickpedia Team ·Jump Starters
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Pickpedia earns from qualifying purchases. The buttons on this page are paid links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects our verdict or scores.
NOCO Boost GB40 1000A Lithium Jump Starter
At a Glance
BrandNOCO
ModelBoost GB40
Peak amperage1000A
Starts per chargeUp to 20
Engine coverageUp to 6.0L gas, 3.0L diesel
Ingress ratingIP65
Best forKeeping a genuinely safe, glove-box-sized jump starter on hand for engines up to 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel

Product Overview

A dead battery is a problem that always happens at the worst possible time, and the traditional solution, a second car and a set of cables, requires another person and a working vehicle to be nearby. A lithium jump starter removes both requirements.

NOCO rates this unit at 1000 peak amps, enough for up to 20 starts per charge on engines as large as 6.0 liters gasoline or 3.0 liters diesel. That range covers the overwhelming majority of cars, trucks, motorcycles, SUVs, boats, ATVs and RVs on the road.

The headline feature is not the amperage figure itself but the safety engineering around it. NOCO describes patented spark-proof and reverse-polarity protected clamps, which directly addresses the two things that make jump-starting a battery by hand genuinely risky.

At a stated 2.4 pounds, this is small and light enough to live permanently in a glove box or an emergency kit without being a burden to carry, which matters because a jump starter left at home is not a jump starter at all.

Score Breakdown

Safety engineering9.6
Starting power9.4
Build durability9.3
Portability9.4
Added features9.2
Large diesel headroom6.5
What we checked

This verdict is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon listing and its product images, the confirmed materials and design, real buyer ratings, and our research into the product category. Scores are consistent editorial judgments, not laboratory measurements, and we did not receive a paid sample.

Key Features

1000 peak amps

Up to 20 starts per charge on engines as large as 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel, covering most cars, trucks and SUVs.

Spark-proof clamps

Removes the ignition risk a spark at the battery terminal poses around a battery that can vent flammable hydrogen gas.

Reverse polarity protection

Prevents damage from connecting positive to negative incorrectly, a common mistake with traditional jumper cables.

IP65 rugged housing

Protects against dust and low-pressure water jets, the realistic exposure a tool kept permanently in a vehicle faces.

Integrated power bank

Delivers emergency charging to phones and tablets, adding value during a roadside wait beyond the jump start itself.

100-lumen flashlight, 7 modes

Lights an engine bay for finding terminals in the dark and includes SOS and strobe modes for roadside visibility.

High-conductivity clamps

Deliver current efficiently to overcome the higher internal resistance a cold battery presents during a start attempt.

Compact 2.4 lb size

Small enough to live permanently in a glove box or emergency kit without being a burden to carry.

Design and Build Quality

UltraSafe technology is the term NOCO uses for the clamp engineering, and it is worth understanding what that actually prevents. A spark at the battery terminal during connection is a genuine ignition risk around a battery that can vent flammable hydrogen gas, and reverse polarity, connecting positive to negative, can damage a vehicle's electrical system or the jump starter itself.

The IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding is the build specification that lets this unit live in a glove box or a trunk through all weather conditions. IP65 specifically covers protection against dust ingress and low-pressure water jets, which is the realistic exposure a tool kept in a vehicle actually faces.

High-conductivity clamps are specified for maximum energy transfer, which matters directly for cold-weather starts, where battery internal resistance rises and the connection between clamp and terminal has to deliver current efficiently to overcome that resistance.

The integrated power bank and USB-C recharging round out the practical design. A 3 hour recharge time means the unit can be topped up between uses without an extended wait, and the dual function as an emergency phone charger adds genuine value during a roadside wait for help beyond the jump start itself.

Performance in Everyday Use

For the vehicles it is rated for, engines up to 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel, 1000 peak amps with up to 20 starts per charge is a strong specification that should handle a genuinely dead battery with room to spare for a second attempt if the first does not catch.

The flashlight is a more functionally important inclusion than it first appears. A 100-lumen LED with 7 modes including SOS and strobe means the same device that starts the car also lights the engine bay for finding the battery terminals in the dark, and provides a visibility signal if a roadside stop becomes a safety concern.

Spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection together mean the clamps can be connected without the precise sequence and caution a traditional set of jumper cables demands, which matters most for anyone jump-starting a vehicle who is not confident doing it with bare cables and another car.

The stated engine size ceiling, 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel, is a genuine limit rather than a conservative suggestion, since diesel engines in particular need more cranking amperage due to higher compression. Anyone with a larger diesel engine specifically should look at a higher-rated NOCO model instead.

Taken together, the safety engineering here is the real differentiator over a generic jump starter: spark-proof clamps, reverse polarity protection, and an IP65 rugged body combine to make this a tool that is both powerful enough for the job and safe enough to hand to someone without jump-starting experience.

How It Performs: The Evidence

Decision factorWhat we foundEvidence and measurementScoreWhy it matters
Peak amperage 1000A, up to 20 starts per charge Listing states instantly start dead batteries with 1000 amps of peak lithium power, up to 20 starts per charge on engines up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel 9.4 Covers the overwhelming majority of cars, trucks, motorcycles, SUVs, boats, ATVs and RVs with room for a second attempt
Clamp safety Spark-proof and reverse polarity protected Listing states it is engineered with patented spark-proof and reverse polarity protection for foolproof connections to any 12V vehicle 9.6 Removes the two genuine risks, ignition spark and incorrect polarity, that make hand-connecting jumper cables risky
Housing durability IP65 rugged rubberized housing Listing states a rugged IP65-rated housing with rubberized over-molding protects against water, dust and impact 9.3 IP65 covers the dust and water jet exposure a tool permanently stored in a vehicle actually faces
Power bank function Integrated charging for phones and tablets Listing states the integrated power bank delivers emergency power to smartphones, tablets and more, recharging in 3 hours 9.2 Adds genuine roadside value beyond the jump start itself during a wait for help
Flashlight 100 lumen, 7 modes including SOS Listing states a precision-engineered 100-lumen LED with 7 light modes including SOS and strobe 9.2 Lights an engine bay for finding terminals in the dark and provides a visibility signal in a roadside emergency
Portability 2.4 lb compact form factor Listing states exceptional starting performance in a compact 2.4 lb form factor, perfectly sized for glove boxes and emergency kits 9.4 A jump starter left at home because it is too bulky to carry is not a jump starter at all
Conductivity High-conductivity clamps Listing states high-conductivity clamps for maximum energy transfer 9.0 Cold batteries have higher internal resistance, so efficient current transfer at the clamp matters most in cold-weather starts
Engine size ceiling Up to 6.0L gas, 3.0L diesel Listing states compatibility for car, truck, motorcycle, SUV, boat, ATV and RV up to 6.0L gas and 3.0L diesel 6.5 A genuine limit rather than a conservative suggestion, since diesel engines need more cranking current at a given size

Who Should Buy It

Buy it if
  • Cars, trucks and SUVs up to 6.0L gas
  • Diesel vehicles up to 3.0L
  • Motorcycles, ATVs and boats
  • RV owners needing portable backup power
  • Emergency roadside kits
  • Anyone wanting a safer alternative to bare jumper cables
Skip it if
  • Vehicles with engines larger than the stated 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel ceiling
  • Not rated beyond 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel engines
  • No stated peak amperage margin above the rated figure
  • Lithium cells require periodic recharging even when unused
  • No included carry case beyond the microfiber storage bag
  • Single unit, no backup clamp set included

Full Specifications

BrandNOCO
ModelBoost GB40
Peak amperage1000A
Starts per chargeUp to 20
Engine coverageUp to 6.0L gas, 3.0L diesel
Ingress ratingIP65
Flashlight100 lumen, 7 modes
Weight2.4 lb
Recharge time3 hours
Charging portUSB-C
Warranty1 year
ColourGray

How It Compares

FeatureNOCOTypical optionHigher-tier option
Peak amperage1000ALowerSimilar
Spark-proof clampsYesNoYes
Reverse polarity protectionYesNoYes
Ingress ratingIP65Not statedIP65
Built-in flashlight100 lumen, 7 modesBasic or noneBasic
Power bank functionYesNoYes
Weight2.4 lbHeavierSimilar
Diesel coverageUp to 3.0LNot statedUp to 3.0L

Alternatives Worth a Look

Pousbo Faucet Water Filter Cartridge Kit (50 Pack)
Pousbo Faucet Water Filter Cartridge Kit (50 P... View on Amazon ›
Simyke Smart Video Baby Monitor, Dual Mode, 2.8-inch Display
Simyke Smart Video Baby Monitor, Dual Mode, 2.... View on Amazon ›
Reusable Microfiber Cleaning Cloth Roll, Tear-Away 20 Cloths
Reusable Microfiber Cleaning Cloth Roll, Tear-... View on Amazon ›
Final Verdict
Great Choice
9.2/10

The safety engineering is what separates this from a generic lithium jump starter: spark-proof, reverse-polarity protected clamps remove the two genuine risks of connecting cables to a battery by hand, and an IP65 rubberized body means it survives living in a glove box through real weather exposure. At 1000 peak amps and up to 20 starts per charge, it comfortably covers engines up to 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel, and the integrated power bank plus a genuinely useful 7-mode flashlight add real roadside value beyond the jump start itself. Diesel engines near or beyond that 3.0L ceiling need a higher-rated unit.

Why buyKeeping a genuinely safe, glove-box-sized jump starter on hand for engines up to 6.0L gas or 3.0L diesel.
Why skipNo stated peak amperage margin beyond the rated 1000A, so very large diesel engines near that limit deserve a higher-rated unit.
Highly Recommended Check Price on Amazon ›
Secure checkout via Amazon

Frequently Asked Questions

What does spark-proof actually prevent?

A spark occurring at the battery terminal during connection, which is a genuine ignition risk because a battery can vent flammable hydrogen gas. The patented clamp technology is designed to eliminate that spark during connection.

What happens if I connect the clamps backwards?

The reverse polarity protection is specifically designed to prevent damage in that scenario, which is one of the most common mistakes made with traditional jumper cables and can otherwise damage a vehicle's electrical system or the jump starter itself.

Will it start my diesel truck?

Up to 3.0L diesel, per the stated specification. Diesel engines generally need more cranking current than a similarly sized gasoline engine due to higher compression, so anything larger than that ceiling needs a higher-rated unit.

Can I leave it in my car year-round?

The IP65-rated rubberized housing is built for that, protecting against dust ingress and water jets, which is the realistic exposure a tool stored in a glove box or trunk faces through different weather conditions.

Does it charge my phone too?

Yes, the integrated power bank delivers emergency power to smartphones and tablets, which adds real value during a roadside wait for help beyond its primary jump-starting function.

How long does it take to recharge?

A stated 3 hours over USB-C, which means the unit can be topped up between uses without an extended wait, keeping it ready the next time a dead battery happens.

Is the flashlight actually useful?

Genuinely, yes. A 100-lumen LED with 7 modes including SOS and strobe lights an engine bay for finding terminals in the dark and doubles as a visibility signal if a roadside stop becomes a safety concern.

How much does it weigh?

A stated 2.4 lb, which is light and compact enough to live permanently in a glove box or an emergency kit without being a burden to carry around, unlike many bulkier jump starters.

How we reviewed this product

This review is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current product listing and its images, the stated peak amperage and starts per charge, the engine size compatibility, the safety technology described for the clamps, the ingress protection rating, the flashlight specification, the recharge time, the stated weight and dimensions, and the listed box contents, plus our own research into why spark-proof and reverse-polarity protection matter during battery jump-starting, why IP65 suits a vehicle-stored tool, and why diesel engines generally need more cranking current than gasoline engines of similar size. It is editorial analysis, not laboratory testing. We have not used this jump starter.

Note: Availability and specifications change often. Always confirm the current details on Amazon before buying.