DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver, Battery and Charger (DCD771C2) Review
A compact cordless drill driver kit with two speeds and a 1/2 inch ratcheting chuck.
| Brand | DEWALT |
|---|---|
| Category | Cordless Drills |
| Model | DCD771C2 |
| Color | Yellow |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 inch |
| Chuck Type | Single sleeve ratcheting |
| Best for | Light to medium drilling and fastening tasks in tight spaces |
Product Overview
The DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver DCD771C2 is a cordless drill kit that includes a battery and charger. Its compact 1/2 inch drill driver offers two speeds, 300 UWO power, and a single sleeve ratcheting chuck.
This review checks the drill's design, speed range, chuck grip, and included accessories against the listing details, without adding unconfirmed specifications.
Score Breakdown
This verdict is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon listing and its product images, the confirmed materials and design, real buyer ratings, and our research into the product category. Scores are consistent editorial judgments, not laboratory measurements, and we did not receive a paid sample.
Key Features
Compact body helps reach tight areas during drilling and fastening.
High performance motor delivers 300 unit watts out for a range of applications.
Select 0 to 450 rpm or 1,500 rpm for fastening and drilling tasks.
Single sleeve chuck provides tight bit gripping strength and easy bit changes.
Handle shape aims to deliver comfort and control during use.
Design and Build Quality
The listing highlights a lightweight design that fits into tight areas, with a yellow body and an ergonomic handle for comfort and control. The 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck is meant to keep bits secure.
DEWALT does not confirm this kit's exact weight or dimensions in the listing, so size comparisons require checking the physical unit or manufacturer specs.
Performance in Everyday Use
The drill driver's high performance motor is listed at 300 UWO, and the high speed transmission provides two settings: 0 to 450 rpm for low speed control and 1,500 rpm for faster drilling and fastening.
A real limitation is that the listing does not specify the battery amp hour rating or charger output, so runtime and charge time are unknown from this page alone.
How It Performs: The Evidence
| Decision factor | What we found | Evidence and measurement | Score | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 300 UWO motor | Feature bullet lists 300 unit watts out | 8.0 | Sufficient for light to medium tasks but not the highest in class |
| Speed Control | Two speeds: 0 to 450 and 1,500 rpm | Feature bullet lists high speed transmission | 8.5 | Two speed range covers both fastening and drilling |
| Chuck Grip | 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck | Feature bullet lists tight bit gripping strength | 8.5 | Ratcheting design helps hold bits securely |
| Ergonomics | Lightweight design and ergonomic handle | Feature bullets list lightweight and comfort | 8.5 | Useful for tight areas and extended control |
| Battery and Charger Info | Included but capacity and model not listed | Title confirms battery and charger included, no further details | 6.0 | Missing runtime and charge time details limit planning |
Who Should Buy It
- DIY home repairs
- Tight space drilling
- Fastening jobs around the house
- First cordless drill kit buyers
- DEWALT 20V battery platform users
- Users who need a heavy duty or brushless drill with detailed runtime specs
- Battery capacity and charger type are not specified in the listing
- No side handle or belt hook listed for extended use
Full Specifications
How It Compares
| Feature | DEWALT | Typical option | Higher-tier option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power Output | 300 UWO | Often 350 to 500 UWO in mid range rivals | Cheaper drills may deliver under 250 UWO |
| Speed Settings | 2 speeds (0 to 450 and 1,500 rpm) | Typically 2 speeds with similar range | Often single speed or lower max rpm |
| Chuck | 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting | Usually 1/2 inch keyless or ratcheting | Sometimes 3/8 inch or plastic chuck |
| Battery and Charger | Included, capacity and model not specified | Includes battery and charger with known amp hour | May be bare tool or require separate battery purchase |
| Weight and Size | Lightweight design, exact weight not listed | Comparable compact drills often list exact weight | Cheaper drills may be bulkier or heavier |
| Brand Platform | DEWALT 20V Max | Other major 18V or 20V platforms | Generic or off brand battery systems |
Alternatives Worth a Look



This is a straightforward DEWALT 20V Max XR drill driver kit for light to medium drilling and fastening. The two speed transmission and 1/2 inch ratcheting chuck cover everyday jobs, though the listing leaves battery and charger specifics unclear.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the chuck size?
The chuck is 1/2 inch with a single sleeve ratcheting design.
What speeds does this drill driver have?
It has two speed settings: 0 to 450 rpm and 1,500 rpm.
Does it come with a battery and charger?
Yes, the listing confirms a battery and charger are included, though the battery capacity and charger model are not specified.
What is the power output?
The motor delivers 300 unit watts out (UWO).
Is this drill driver lightweight?
The listing highlights a lightweight design that fits into tight areas, but it does not list an exact weight.
What color is the tool?
The product info lists the color as Yellow.
This review is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon product listing and its images, the confirmed materials and design, and our own research into cordless drills as a product category. Our scores are editorial judgments made against consistent criteria, not laboratory measurements, and we did not carry out destructive or long-term stress testing.
Where the listing did not clearly confirm a detail, such as exact dimensions, weight or certifications, we have deliberately left it out rather than guess. If you are buying, always confirm the current specification and price on the live Amazon listing, since configurations and availability change.