Cuisinart Coffee Center Barista Bar 4-in-1 Coffee Maker SS-4N1NAS Review
Four brewing options in one machine, from 12-cup carafe to pod and Nespresso espresso.
| Brand | Cuisinart |
|---|---|
| Category | Coffee & Espresso |
| Color | Black |
| Size | 12-Cup |
| Unit Count | 1 |
| Carafe Capacity | Up to 12 cups, cup equals approximately 5 oz |
| Best for | Households wanting drip coffee, pods, and espresso in one machine |
Product Overview
The Cuisinart Coffee Center Barista Bar 4-in-1 Coffee Maker combines a 12-cup carafe brewer with single-serve pod brewing and a Nespresso OriginalLine-compatible capsule side. The listing highlights 24-hour programmability, a keep warm setting up to 4 hours, brew pause, and a brew strength control with permanent gold-tone and charcoal filters.
This review checks the confirmed features, what the listing does not disclose, and where the machine fits for drip coffee, pod, and espresso drinkers.
Score Breakdown
This verdict is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon listing and its product images, the confirmed materials and design, real buyer ratings, and our research into the product category. Scores are consistent editorial judgments, not laboratory measurements, and we did not receive a paid sample.
Key Features
Brews a 12-cup carafe, K-Cup compatible pods, and Nespresso OriginalLine espresso capsules.
Fully automatic brewing with 24-hour timer, brew pause, and keep warm up to 4 hours.
Tailor strength and use the included gold-tone permanent filter and charcoal water filter.
Choose 6 oz, 8 oz, or 10 oz for pod brewing to match your preferred strength.
Accepts Nespresso OriginalLine-style capsules for single and double espresso shots.
Design and Build Quality
The machine comes in a black finish and is listed as a 12-cup size, but the listing does not provide item dimensions, water tank capacity, or material details. It includes a gold-tone, commercial-style permanent filter and a charcoal water filter for maintenance and taste.
Because the exact footprint and reservoir size are not confirmed, buyers with limited counter space should measure their spot and check the manual or additional listings before purchasing.
Performance in Everyday Use
The carafe side brews up to 12 cups, with each cup approximated at 5 oz, and supports brew strength control, 24-hour programmability, brew pause, and adjustable keep warm up to 4 hours. The single-serve side lets you choose 6 oz, 8 oz, or 10 oz for K-Cup and other pods, while the Nespresso OriginalLine capsule side makes single or double espresso.
One real limitation is that the listing claims cappuccino and latte drinks but does not specify a milk frother or steam wand. Users who want true milk-based espresso drinks may need a separate frother or may need to use capsules or pods that include milk, which the listing does not confirm.
How It Performs: The Evidence
| Decision factor | What we found | Evidence and measurement | Score | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carafe capacity | Up to 12 cups, approx 5 oz per cup | Feature bullet states up to 12 cups and cup equals approx 5 oz | 8.5 | Full size carafe for households, but 5 oz cup measure may be smaller than standard mugs. |
| Single serve flexibility | 6 oz, 8 oz, 10 oz pod brew sizes | Listing confirms three single serve brew sizes for pods | 8.5 | Three sizes cover light to larger cups but no 12 oz pod option. |
| Espresso capability | Nespresso OriginalLine single and double espresso | Feature bullet confirms Nespresso OriginalLine-style capsules and single/double espresso | 8.0 | Good for espresso shots but limited to OriginalLine capsules, not Vertuo. |
| Programmability | 24-hour timer, keep warm up to 4 hours, brew pause | Feature bullets list 24-hour programmability and keep warm | 9.0 | Strong control for scheduled brewing and pausing mid brew. |
| Milk drink capability | Cappuccino and latte claims, no frother specified | Feature bullet mentions cappuccinos and lattes but listing does not specify a milk frother | 6.5 | Potential gap for milk-based drinks; needs separate frother if not included. |
Who Should Buy It
- Busy kitchens that need carafe and single serve options
- K-Cup and Nespresso OriginalLine users
- Those who prefer a permanent filter over paper
- Households that want programmability and keep warm
- Espresso drinkers who do not need a dedicated milk steamer
- Anyone needing a dedicated steam wand or verified milk frother
- Listing does not state water tank capacity or machine dimensions
- No details on a milk frother for cappuccino and latte drinks
Full Specifications
How It Compares
| Feature | Cuisinart | Typical option | Higher-tier option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brewing methods | 12-cup carafe, pod, Nespresso OriginalLine | 10 to 12 cup carafe plus K-Cup pod only | Basic drip coffee maker only |
| Pod compatibility | K-Cup and other pods plus Nespresso OriginalLine | K-Cup compatible only | No pod support |
| Milk drinks | Claims cappuccino and latte, frother unconfirmed | May include a built-in milk frother | No milk drink function |
| Programmability | 24-hour timer, keep warm up to 4 hours, brew pause | Basic 24-hour timer, no brew pause | Manual on/off only |
| Filter | Gold-tone permanent filter plus charcoal water filter | Paper basket filter only | Paper cone filter |
| Capacity | 12 cups, cup equals approx 5 oz | 10 to 12 cups, cup equals 5 oz | 8 cups |
Alternatives Worth a Look



This is a versatile countertop machine for households that want a full carafe, pod coffee, and Nespresso style espresso without separate devices. The main uncertainty is milk preparation for latte and cappuccino claims, so confirm your milk setup before buying.
Frequently Asked Questions
What pod types can this machine use?
The single-serve side is compatible with Keurig K-Cup pods and other single serve pods. The espresso side uses Nespresso OriginalLine-style capsules.
Does it brew a full carafe?
Yes, the carafe side brews up to 12 cups, with each cup approximately 5 oz depending on brewing technique.
Can it make cappuccinos and lattes?
The listing says it can enjoy cappuccinos and lattes, but it does not confirm a built-in milk frother or steam wand.
Is it programmable?
Yes, it has fully automatic brewing, 24-hour programmability, adjustable keep warm up to 4 hours, and a brew pause feature.
What filters are included?
The listing includes a gold-tone, commercial-style permanent filter and a charcoal water filter.
Does it work with Nespresso Vertuo capsules?
No, the listing only confirms compatibility with Nespresso OriginalLine-style capsules.
This review is based on the manufacturer's stated specifications, the current Amazon product listing and its images, the confirmed materials and design, and our own research into coffee and espresso as a product category. Our scores are editorial judgments made against consistent criteria, not laboratory measurements, and we did not carry out destructive or long-term stress testing.
Where the listing did not clearly confirm a detail, such as exact dimensions, weight or certifications, we have deliberately left it out rather than guess. If you are buying, always confirm the current specification and price on the live Amazon listing, since configurations and availability change.